Watch As National LGBTQ Wall of Honor is Unveiled at Stonewall Inn

By N. Jamiyla Chisholm Jun 27, 2019

In advance of the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising on Friday (June 28), a National LGBTQ Wall of Honor will be dedicated today (June 27) at New York City’s historic Stonewall Inn.

The dedication is a collaboration between the National LGBTQ Task Force, the oldest LGBTQ+ advocacy organization in the United States, and the oldest LGBTQ+ organization in North America, International Imperial Courts of the USA, Canada and Mexico, to celebrate half a century of LGBTQ+ activism. 

The Wall of Honor’s inaugural list of fifty names highlights artists, activists, federal workers and others who have paved the road to LGBTQ+ liberation and progress. This includes luminaries such as writer James Baldwin, activist Marsha P. Johnson, performer Stormé DeLarverie, novelist E. Lynn Harris, poets June Jordan and Audre Lorde, HIV/AIDS educator Pedro Zamora and activist Sylvia Rivera, to name a few.

“This National LGBTQ Wall of Honor will remind our community whose shoulders we stand on and the pioneers, trailblazers and heroes of our civil rights movement,” Nicole Murray Ramirez, National LGBTQ Wall of Honor founder and national co-chair and Queen Mother I of the Americas, said in a statement. “Indeed, a movement that does not know where it came from does not really know where it’s going.”

Dedication speakers will include Murray Ramirez, Kierra Johnson from the National LGBTQ Task Force, Mandy Carter from the National Black Justice Coalition, long-time transgender activist Empress Karina Samala and more.

Watch a livestream of the dedication on National LGBTQ Task Force’s Facebook page starting at 10:30 a.m. EDT.