Kendrick Lamar Drops ‘Black Panther’ Album Track List

By Sameer Rao Feb 01, 2018

"Black Panther" mania grows by the day, with the Hollywood and New York premieres on Monday (January 30) receiving overwhelming praise. Kendrick Lamar upped the ante by releasing the cover art and full track list for the Marvel film’s official soundtrack on his Twitter page yesterday (January 31). 

Lamar announced in early January that he and Anthony Tiffith, president of Lamar’s Top Dawg Entertainment (TDE) record label, co-produced and curated "Black Panther: The Album." The cover art (above) features an all-Black background with stark metal spikes like the ones adorning T’Challa/Black Panther’s neck in the Marvel movies. 

K-Dot raps on five of the soundtrack’s 14 tracks, including two that have already been released online: "All the Stars," with TDE labelmate and Grammy nominee SZA; and "King’s Dead," led by TDE affiliate Jay Rock and featuring Lamar with fellow MC Future and singer James Blake

The rest of the tracklist is a mix of famous and rising Black musicians, including TDE members Schoolboy Q and Ab-Soul; up-and-coming singers Jorja Smith, Zacarai and Khalid; and chart toppers The Weeknd and 2 Chainz, among others. 

"Black Panther: The Album" debuts February 9, one week before the superhero film hits the big screen.