Big Freedia Drops New Single, Announces Album ‘Just Be Free’

By Jamilah King Apr 25, 2014

Big Freedia, one of the pioneers of New Orleans bounce who put twerking on the map, just released a new single called "Explode." It’s the first track off of his new upcoming album, "Just Be Free," which is set to be released on June 17.

Freedia talked to Rolling Stone about what inspired the song. "The idea behind ‘Explode’ is that it was the way I was feeling, like I’m going to explode," Freedia told the magazine. "Being on the road, being in a relationship, I have a lot of stress and I feel like I’m about to explode. Also, when I’m on stage, I feel like I’m going to explode. That’s why I say ‘release your wiggle.’ This made sense for it to be the first single because I want people to know that I’m coming out with a bang ;)"

The inspiration for the album, Freedia says, is similar. "Being ‘free to be who you’ is one," says the singer. "We live in a society where we have a lot of liberties. It’s just not like this everywhere in the world. This album is my first studio recorded album where I came up with concepts beforehand. So much of my music is appreciated live, but I think these tracks are one you can listen to at a late night twerk party or an afternoon barbecue and enjoy!"

"Just Be Free" tracklist:

1. Turn Da Beat Up
2. Dangerous
3. N.O. Bounce
4. Jump On It
5. Lift Dat Leg Up
6. Ol’ Lady
7. Where My Queens At
8. Explode
9. Y’Tootsay

(Rolling Stone)